spell

tell me — what two things
are more fascinating than
beauty and evil?

I started writing this on the bus into work on Monday morning. I’d just flown back from Madrid the previous day, where I had been attending the 7th World Hearing Voices Congress. A challenge, yes. But rising to meet it seems to have given me an injection of energy. This poem was written for the sake of it rather than as a therapeutic exercise. I genuinely can’t think of any other more compelling abstracts than beauty and evil. But when they enter lived reality they tend to appear as love and madness. The pairing of love and madness as the two main themes of my life, was something I landed on a couple of years ago in one of the drafts of my projected autobiography.

Leave a Reply

