discern

despite my judgements
of taste — stark reality
doesn’t budge one inch

Had trouble remembering my dreams last night, but eventually remembered 2 things. A training course that wasn’t deemed suitable or satisfactory, and a mild conflict of opinion on the subject of an aunt of mine. Someone deemed her friendliness a pretence. Ironically enough, I am involved with delivering a training course at work which encourages people to be ‘non-judgemental’ when faced with so-called symptoms of mental illness. I was thinking a few days ago about that term ‘non-judgemental’ and wishing I could put my finger on what troubles me about it. Somehow we need to make judgements continually about everything in order to exist. Maybe the judgements themselves are part of the given reality. 

Leave a Reply

