divine spark

never let me take
for granted the God-given
goodness of people

Last night I dreamed of my first primary school — Emmanuel Church of England School in West Hampstead. In the dream, it crossed my mind that none of the current staff would remember me. In real life yesterday evening, I took a journey into my own past, reliving some events from the early seventies. My dream seems to want to take me even further back, to the early sixties when I would have started school. I’ve no real notion how today’s poem came about. I felt totally dry of inspiration for about half an hour, then this just came from nowhere. I wonder if it’s an expression of gratitude for the wonderful way I was listened to as I told my story yesterday evening.

Leave a Reply

