small talk

how was your weekend?
— a polite enquiry thrust
like a wide bore shot
gun in my face, warning me
to back off right from the start

This is so unfair on the young lady who, in reality yesterday at work, delivered this routine formula for my benefit. And it really was for my benefit. I had complained a couple of weeks ago that I was feeling left out of the bonding going on among the three other members of the team, which has partly to do with the fact that I work in a different room. And so she had come into ‘my’ office specifically in order to be friendly. I just find the small talk formulae really difficult. Always have. The dream had me staring down the bore of a shot gun held by a woman.

Leave a Reply

