football

is that my severed
head rolling across the ground
with nothing to lose?

It’s a disturbing image. As my name is John, I’ve been tempted in the past to identify with John the Baptist. When you hit rock bottom and have nothing to lose, a kind of strength can result. That’s roughly the significance of the Baptist for me. But I don’t know why I dreamed of a decapitated head. Is it a warning? What of? The days of my identification with the Baptist are long past. Suddenly present.

Leave a Reply

